Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Where to start when learning edible plants??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to start when learning edible plants??

Ok, I have often admitted that I know squat when it comes to edibles. Ive done a lot of reading today, that encourages us (duh) to know what plants are edible in our area.

What are some ways to help someone starting out? Should I try to find a local book, or anyone have any ideas? I have often thought of ordering some wild edible cards, but do those cater to your local area??

Im stumped here, and I know so many of you are wiz kids at this!

Advice appreciated!!! And remember, Im really new at this, ok.. so a edibles for dummies explanation is absolutely necessary!! :)
    If the zombies chase us, Im tripping you!!!

I'm anxious to read some good advice on how to find out what is edible in your area.

I know one thing I'm not going to try, is to walk out in the woods and start eating just anything. lol

Comment

Get Sam Thayers books and a Petersons Guide to Edible Plants, then take a course from someone in your area!

Comment

This may help...

http://briarpatchoutdoors.educationf...liography.html

Comment

Very nice link Curdog! One of my goals is to get a small group going in my area introducing people to the basics of bushcrafting and I will definately keep you in mind for the wild edible expertise.

Here are two very good books maric...

Comment

Thanks Guys! Ill take a look at all this!

Comment

In our area I talked to several locals. One is a Native American who collects food from the desert. After helping several times on collection trips for his Grandparents he started teaching me what and when can be eaten. Funny reading all those books and magazines I found out the water from a barrel cactus is so high in akaline that it will cause the runs and eventually cause dehydration and death.