Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Firesticks

I am a newbie to this forum.
    I carry my Light My Fire army size firesticks.I find they work well.

I tried the Coughlans magnesium block , but its too big to carry with EDC.

I treat my firesticks with nail polish (clear colour) , to avoid any corrosion in any salt/wet atmosphere.

What firesticks do other members have , and do you rate them?

I got some stuff recently in a "box" subscription my wife bought me. Haven't tried it yet but plan on it.
    "Oh, America. I wish I could tell you that this was still America, but I've come to realize that you can't have a country without people. And there are no people here. No, my friends. This is now the United States of Zombieland"

"The constitution does not guarantee our safety, only our liberty!" Robert Steed before congress 3/2013

Skills Beats Stuff

Comment

I have a few that I bought from wally world. They work good and are small with no weight so I can put them in my pocket if need be. My grandson loves starting a camp fire with them.

Comment

I get all mine from firesteel.com. I find them to be high quality compared to many of the others.

Comment

Sorry Down south I think what you call fire sticks we call fat wood. If so I find my own in among the pine trees on a tree farm behind where I live.

Comment

Fatwood is tinder. Firesticks are the ignition source by means of creating a shower of sparks igniting your tinder which burn in excess of 3000 degrees. Also known as ferrocium rods.

Comment

Please post link to "fire stick".
              I google it and it comes up a movie thingy.

thingy????? Well ya know what I mean.

I carry MATCHES.
              Strike anywhere matches made water proof by dipping quickly in melted canning
              wax.

Comment

http://www.armysurpluswarehouse.com/...-starters.html

Another source for mil surp and survival stuff.
                stuff = goodies

Comment

Originally posted by OldCoot View Post