Faraday Cages - Your trashcan might not work

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Faraday Cages - Your trashcan might not work

I decided to start a thread on Faraday Cages because I think they are an important part to any prepping for SHTF. As most folks already know what a Faraday cage is, I'm just going to cover some of the mathematics involved so folks can make informed design choices.

Obviously Faraday cages are used to protect electronics in the case of an EMP... But that's kind of like saying body armor protects you from bullets.. the real question is how big is the bullet and how good is the body armor?

I have done a lot of research on this and have read the data reports from the Star Fish Prime testing as well as what I could gather from the Russian tests. I've also spoke to Arthur T. Bradley of NASA (who specializes in this stuff), read government and Homeland Security reports, and have run my own calculations (I am an electrical engineer after all).

So here is what I've found.. some very basic stuff to help in your cage design.

First, I suggest reading this report:
    https://www.gao.gov/assets/680/676361.pdf